The FIFA Interactive World Cup (FIWC) is an annual tournament organised by FIFA in cooperation with EA SPORTS™. Every year the FIWC sets out on the search to find the best virtual football player in the world.

The FIWC is an official FIFA Tournament and the player crowned champion is considered by FIFA to be football’s virtual world champion. The tournament is hosted on the PlayStation and Xbox networks and can be accessed via EA SPORTS FIFA 17.

The FIFA Interactive World Cup has held a place in the Guinness Book of Records since 2010 as the largest gaming tournament in the world.

Important information at a glance

First FIWC: 2004

Current FIWC edition: FIFA Interactive World Cup 2017 (FIWC 17)

Participation requirements for FIWC 17: PlayStation®4 or Xbox One and  EA SPORTS™ FIFA 17

Current FIWC Champion: Mohamad Al-Bacha (Denmark) 

Grand Prize: Cash prize of USD 200,000 and a trip for the winner and their guest to FIFA’s annual football award ceremony

Runner-up prize: USD 40,000

Number of participants in 2016:
 2,326,583 players 

Grand Final places for FIWC 17: 32

List of FIWC champions

Qualification for the FIWC 17 Grand Final

    • 2016: Mohamad Al-Bacha (Denmark) 
    • 2015: Abdulaziz Alshehri (Saudi Arabia) 
    • 2014: August Rosenmeier (Denmark)
    • 2013: Bruce Grannec (France) 
    • 2012: Alfonso Ramos (Spain)
    • 2011: Francisco Cruz (Portugal)
    • 2010: Nenad Stojkovic (USA)
    • 2009: Bruce Grannec (France)
    • 2008: Alfonso Ramos (Spain)
    • 2006: Andries Smit (Netherlands)
    • 2005: Chris Bullard (United Kingdom)
    • 2004: Thiago Carrico de Azevedo (Brazil)

    FIWC Regional Qualification Events (22 Grand Final seats)

  • FUT Regional Qualification Events and Championship (8 Grand Final seats)

  • FIFA Interactive Club World Cup (2 Grand Final seats)

Please visit our Tournament Format section for detailed information on qualifying for the FIWC 2017 Grand Final. 

To submit requests for further information, please use the Contact Form.

Read the full FIFA Interactive World Cup 2017 Terms and Conditions.